Anyone Using Samplitude On A Intel Mac Pro Quad Core ?

hi everyone.

after discovering some amazing mixes done entirely in samplitude/sequioa...and having seen the amazing power of this software first hand from my buddy and awesome mastering engineer trevor sadler...i am INTRIGUED !!

i am a producer/engineer/mixer. my background is on analog tape and big consoles, but i made the (almost) total switch to digital a few years back. still track some stuff on analog tape..but it always ends up in digital land. for the past 6 years been a loyal pt user.

i have been blown away by samplitude, its sound quality and features. i have a brand new quad core mac intel that i purchased to use with my protools le system. (i also run an (ancient) mix4 tdm rig on an old g4 with apogee/crane song converters for tracking...recently mixing in protools le on the new computer.

i'm not satisfied yet. do NOT want to put the $$ into a pt hd rig. i believe native is the way to go.

i understand i would be able to run samplitude under windows xp under bootcamp. i plan on buying a lynx 2 or rme pci card to use for monitoring and for possibly accessing some of my outboard gear during mixing.

the idea of having a mix system that would run on my mac intel at the studio..and ALSO on my macbook laptop....is VERY cool.

for now...most of my tracking will still be in pt or radar. i would like to setup a rig for itb mixing only.

most of my productions are 24-64 tracks.

curious if anyone here is having good luck running samplitude on a mac intel quad core with any luck.

questions i have are:

1. how easy is it to do a system like this ?

2. how stable is it.

3. what type of track/plugin counts do you experience ?

4. any advice on memory, pci audio cards ? xp vs. vista ?

i really appreciate anyone willing to take the time to give me some advice.

peace,

jchristopherhughes

posthistoricrecording

milwaukee,wi

myspace.com/jonchristopherhughes

Hi jchristopherhughes ,