Scott473

DSP % versus actual CPU usage?

Even though I have Pro X setup to use 6 logical cores on my i7 I still see things like "DSP; 48% [63% Max] in the performance monitor in the lower left corner. If I check the Windows 8.1 Task Manager I never see utilization above 20% and most of the logical cores are seeing relatively little use. Why does Pro X seem to significantly overestimate how it's using the the CPU? I was just expecting that with multi-core support the DSP: display should be similar to the Task Manager display of CPU usage.

I've even seen displays of over 100% when I was really laying in some heavy VST instrument usage. As an engineer I always see 100% as the hard limit. What the heck does Pro X mean when the display is over 100%!!!

It's the same whether I'm using Pro X 32 or 64 though 64 seems a bit more CPU efficient even running the 32 bit bridge.

See the screenshot below.

post-20360-0-06365000-1396199292_thumb.jpg

I imagine some Magix guru out there knows the answer to this.

:-)

Same problem, DAW screens 90% cpu usage when windows shows 20% cpu usage. I can't find where to change the limit in Samplitude Pro X5

cpu daw.PNG

So I should allocate more cpu availability to Samplitude ?
like increasing the number of cores Samplitude is able to use in its options ? I already done that... I believe the samplitude threads of calculations are not shared enough to the different cores which causes saturation of processing to about 2-3 cores, on the 8 cores I have, I will try and survey that through a software to give confirmation.

On 3/30/2014 at 7:04 PM, Scott473 said: