Samplitude 7.2

MGB

Hello everybody, I'm new on this forum and looking for advice, maybe you can help.

I'm just getting started on a DAW at home and the choice of software is between Cubase SX and Samplitude ( downloaded both demo's SX 1.02 and Samp 7.1 ).

Like I said I'm really just now starting out so I can't speak of earlier experiences.

To me, Samplitude looks and feels like the one, but also a bit more complicated.

I think I will do both audio and midi recording so I'm looking for the best allround application.

Cubase looks to have the advantage there.

But somehow I feel more attracted to Samp.

The questions are; does anybody know already how midi functions are going to be in Samp 7.2 ?

Will they be up to par to compete with SX?

Are there any other things I should look for, because I'm inexperienced I don't already know what's important and what's not.

Hope you can help me out.

MGB

Guest ssante@earthlink.net

I have been a Samp user for 4 years. If you thinking of using Samp for Serious Midi and Softsynths then you better think again. Magix claims 7.2 will solve alot of issues (can you say UNUSABLE) for Midi and Softsynths. Also now that I am using XP my CD burning no longers works with Samp. Ya wanna know the good news for that: Get another CDR burner or use another program.

Bottom line is this: Samp is a great program for AUDIO only. Mixing and Mastering. Forget those of us who need a Sequencer/Audio solution. Samp is not it. Go with SONAR or Cubase SX. I choose SONAR 3 and am thrilled. I still can't burn directly from SONAR3 but then I can't do that in Samp anymore, and guess what the Lexicon and Ultra Funk plugins that come with Sonar are FABULOUS.

Thanks Stephanie.

As far as I understand, Samp 7 already has some midi and vst support and it looks like they want to catch up with Cubase and Logic really fast, like I said I'm just starting out so for me it's hard to see in a glimpse what is still missing in Samp.