Take Management

Guest Jason A

Guest Jason A

Hello,

I have been playing around with the Samp demos for a couple of years now but I am just now on the verge of making the plunge. Most of the features I thought were missing I have found so I have a question about my biggest remaining issue: Take management.

OK, I record a riff. Think I might be able to do better. Punch in a couple of lines. Open take manager and all of the takes are there, except my first take is now empty. How can I tell Samplitude to keep the first track? I tried the Statistic buttons and they bring up a VIP with all takes including the first one. I can comp a line in there and I assume it saves it as an extra take and doesn't replace any of the takes(I can't confirm that because I'm using the demo and it won't let me save) which is fantastic. But why is it empty in take manager? I would rather just split up the original in the VIP and then bring to the front the pieces of the takes I want.

I think this is my only problem with Samplitude at the moment and would really like to get this one resolved.

Thanks for your help

Jason A.

Guest Guest_Jason A

OK, maybe I should rephrase the question.

Question #1: When punching into a track to get several takes of a line, how do I get the original line (The one I punched into) to play when selected. Right now, it appears in take manager just like the others, but does not contain any sound.

Question #2: In the same scenario, if I use the Statistics button in Take manager, the first track comes up (along with the other takes) in a new VIP. This time, the original line contains sound. If I use this new VIP to comp a few of the tracks together, can this comped take be saved as an alternate take? Again, I'm using the demo so I can't save any comps I make and thus can't verify this point.

You are now free to all answer at once. :D

Jason A.

Guest Jason A

Does this mean I'm the only one who comps tracks?