Strange behaving

rumba

Hello to all and great that I found this forum. Guys, I am new with home recording, so please bear with me about my questions.

Guys, help me with this problems. I use Samp v. 7. All was going fine but since I got the M-Audio USB DUO Card, I am having diferent situations/problems with Samplitude. (I was recording before or testing using a Sound Bluster Live with no problems. Then I started to get motivated to do more serious recording with my new Laptop. (Toshiba Satellite P20 - 304) P IV 3000 mhz - 60 GB hard disk, more than 500 mb ddr working memory - nVidia GO 64, etc.

For example:

1. I can´t monitor the mic or guitar, there is no sound when I try to sing or play instruments using the inputs from the DUO. However, signal shows up in Samplitude but there is no reproduction/sound of this signal back to the monitors.

2. Making some voice recording tests, without hearing anything, but sure that I am recording, when I try to play all together, the recorded voice has another tempo, another pitch and so on. I have tried all settings in the audio freference with no results at all. The old recordings were at 24 bits and recording now in 24 as well I get another pitch, tempo.

3. There is no way that I can route properly the inputs from the DUO to Samplitude and that I can hear what I do through these inputs from the DUO.

4. I have a lot of hiss noise in my speakers. I connect the outputs of the DUO into the input of my home amplifier from SONY(It´s not a studio monitor, but a brand new domestic CD amp.) and from the Amp, cables go to the speakers. Then when I bring up level up, there is a lot of hiss, in other words, I have to have the level control from the amp in order to have as minimun as noise possible.