Playbak probs after upgrade to 6.05

Guest pat

Hi Folks - my name is Pat I'm relatively new to samplitude been trying it out as an alternative to Sonar (my version 2.2). after playing with the v8 demo I was still unsure so i bought producer 6.0. imported some wave files from sonar and had a nice project. All was well. downloaded the patch today for producer 6.05 and lo and behold I can no longer get good playback - lots of errors/dropouts.

I do have a number of samplitude effects runnings (1 delay, 3 reverb, a few dynamics, about a dozen eq) however this all worked before I upgraded just fine. I turned them all off and I still have the same problem.

Here are the symptoms:

1) disc utilization now never tops 3%! usually it's at 0!

2) CPU starts around 10%, then hits 20, then 40, then my favorite somewhere between 160-220% whatever that means.

I had been using buffer settings between 500-1000 with great results. I have tried changing them up to max and no difference.

I also selected large cache sizes in TrackSpeed setup. And I set the HD read size to Best Playback Stability.

Oddly, none of these changes seems to do anything.

And sadly, I can no longer play _any_ of my projects in Sonar! Oh NO!

If anyone has any ideas, please let me know - I can't figure what I did ---

Regards,

Pat

Guest Guest_Tekker

You could try completely un-installing and re-installing Samplitude again. Then try loading the patch and see if that fixes anything.

If not, then try using the 6.04 patch, I remember hearing some people having problems with the 6.05 patch (back when v6.05 was the "current" version) and they said that 6.04 was the most stable. I've run both patches and am currently running 6.05 and it's working fine though.

But try re-installing first and if that doesn't fix it, then use the 6.04 patch instead.