Samplitude vs the others

Guest joz

Hi all,

I downloaded the demo of SampV8 and I am impressed. I currently use Cubase SX3 and I'm not completely happy with the way it works. I tried Sonar 4 but that's not completely my cup of tea too (though, all in all, their bundle seems better than Cubase SX, with the Sonitus stuff and all).

Everybody says Samplitude is the better, more professional way, comparable with Pro Tools and Logic. Why is that? What makes Samp so much better? I'm really interested...

I record 80% audio and 20% MIDI, but I do use automation quite a lot (took me while to figure that out in Samplitude, but seems to work fine, once you're used to it).

Looking forward to your replies

Guest GTBannah

Yeah.

Samp/Seq has a very different and interesting way of doing things. It will take some getting used to. I'm studying V6 at the moment and, once I get comfortable, and "the accouontant" aggrees, I'll move up to V8.

I like the fact that you can do everything in the same place. I like the stereo imager, I like the fact that you can limit and increase volume on the same page.

I'm a Cakewalk/SONAR type to guy, and I like the fact that in SONAR you can automate every single, individual, one-by-one parameter. I also find SONAR's mixer easier to navigate.

The mixer in Samp/Seq is scalable. when you drag a corner, the size changes proportionately. In SONAR, some of the mixer disappears. :o

I love the MIDI in SONAR. I may have to take a leap of faith, where MIDI is concerned, and just move over to Samp/Seq. In the absence of a manual, the MIDI aspect of the V8 DEMO is not clear, especially since the approach is so very different from SONAR's.

Even if I end up recording and mixing in SONAR, Samp/Seq is a good Mastering tool.

End of lecture ....

Guest MikeG

Hi Joz,