Snapping

Hey Everyone. I'm new to samplitude. Used Sonar, Acid, Audition/Cool Edit Pro, among others in the past. Used Snapping alot cause i work with drum loops when recording demos. However icant seem to get it to work in Samplitude. I have it set to snap to grid/bars, show the grid lines and snap enabled/active. But still when click on a Wavefrom/object/track, it just selects the whole thing, and still plays from the beginning of the file instead of snaping to the start of the nearest measure and playing from there. Is there a certain mode or something i have to be in? Is there a specific edit tool i have to have selected first? i have tried going into the wave editor mode but it only seems to snap to actual time in there not grid/bars. Any Suggestions?

Thanks

Guest sebastian.gabler

Hi,

by default, Samp is in the Universal Mouse Mode where clicking in the lower Object half selects an object, clicking in the upper half positions the cursor. Snap is a cursor/Object move/Range operation and has nothing to do with the selection of the Object.

What Samplitude version do you refer to btw?

Cheers,

Sebastian

Hey thanks for the info. I am using 8.11. I know snapping doesnt have anything to do with selection. I use it so i can start recording at a certina mesure or insert a drum loop, or split a loop at a certen mesure. Thans how i have always uses it in the pas in other apps. So when i click in the general area of where the measure starts it will snap to the begining of the measure.

But still when click on a Wavefrom/object/track, it just selects the whole thing, and still plays from the beginning of the file instead of snaping to the start of the nearest measure and playing from there.