Wave Editor Question

hitch

Hi everyone. First post!

I've got Samplitude V8 SE courtesy of Computer Music magazine, and I'm sloooowly getting to grips with it. I'm new to all this though I have used Magix Music Maker 2004 - fun but buggy. Samplitude's sound quality is excellent and the package seems to offer a lot. My computer seems to like it too. :wacko:

Anyway, here's a newbie question:

I want to edit a wav, so I right-click the file in the sequencer and select Wave Editor. The editor opens with the wav inside it, but when I try to chop it I get this message: "This range of the physical object can't be changed because it is used by VIP objects." What do I do now? I'm sure the answer is very simple. ;)

Forgive me if I'm telling you something you already know, but the whole advantage to the way Samplitude and most DAWs work is that you don't have to edit the actual wave file. Editing it "virtually" in Samp's VIP is the way to go 99.87% of the time. With this type of editing, no changes are ever permanent, and much more complex and amazing results can be had.

Does this change your question, or do you still need to know how to edit the actual wave file?

Ken Rutkowski

www.OuterLimitRecordingStudio.com

Unless I'm misunderstanding your question, you should not need to go into the wave editor. That's destructive editing (permanent) and is sooooo 1990's. Do your edits in the VIP window virtually. If it's just chopping the "D" out of the abc's, for instance, do the following: Using Universal Mouse Mode, click and drag on the top half of the waveform from after the D to before the D, then hit the T key. This will create a separate "object" of just the D. You can now do anything you want with it. Erase it, riase the volume, lower the pitch, compress it, put any of 40 billion effects on it, move it... whatever. You are now in the new age of music editing. Your original recorded wave file is still intact, but you can change it in any way.

Enjoy.